Comfort Foods!

Being recent transplants to California, I am surely missing my down home Southern foods. Tonight that changes!

On the menu for the night:

Country Fried Steak

Mashed Potatoes

Jalapeno Gravy (Look at that! I added Southwestern flair!!!)

60 Minute Kitchen Rolls (the tragic demise of my Kitchen Aid mixer tonight)

Country Fried Steak

2 lbs of cube steak

1 cup all purpose flour

1 egg

1/2 cup milk

5 tbsp of Cajun seasoning

salt & pepper to preference

Canola oil, enough to have 2 inches in your frying pan

In a container, combine the flour, Cajun seasoning, salt, pepper. In a separate container combine the egg and milk. Fully cover the steak with the egg mix, then thoroughly coat with the flour mixture. Heat the oil, then add the steak in. Cook on high for ten minutes, then flip and cook for an additional ten minutes. (Remember times may vary depending on your stove, cube steak is typically cooked well done.) Place on paper towels to soak up excess oil.

For the Jalapeno Gravy:

You will need around half the amount of your grease (I poured my excess in a coffee cup). Add 2 diced jalapenos, minced and onion and garlic to your oil. Cook til browned, then add 2 Tbsp of all purpose flour and 1 cup of milk. I always adjust if I need more milk once I have been stirring awhile. πŸ™‚

For the Mashed Potatoes:

Peel potatoes, boil til tender to a fork. Add to mixer bowl, add 10 Tbsp of butter, 4 Tbsp of sour cream and just a splash of evaporated milk (or milk). Mix on medium speed until mashed.

For the 60 minute Kitchen Aid rolls:

http://erincooks.com/kitchenaid-sixty-minute-dinner-rolls/

The rolls are fantastic when the mixer abides. LOL Here is what they have looked like before:

Be warned, this can cause damage to your mixer. 😦 Or, apparently, my mixer. My bowls lil grips stripped off and caused a major catastrophe. Now I have to replace my plate that holds the bowl in, and the bowl. *Facepalm*

This entry was posted in Beef, Entree, Southern Comfort. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

